The Toughest Workout You’ve NEVER Tried

One of my mantras in life is to always look for and try something new.  A particular kind of food…a new sport…a new destination…whatever it may be.

Well recently, I had the opportunity to try something new.  My wife tried to get me to take a water running class.  Who am I kidding…it was Water Aerobics.  Unfortunately for me, I had a number of business issues to take care of, so I let her have at it.  Now, you might think a class like water aerobics is full of older ladies who like to talk about the last few episodes of Oprah.  And if that was your impression…you’d be right.  But, the class also had it’s fair share of 30-somethings as well as a couple of fire fighters. Quite a varied mix of participants.

Like most activities, water aerobics can be as hard as you want to make it.  In this particular class, they give you a flotation belt, then have you “run” laps in the pool, do various strength training techniques on the side, etc.  Basically, they keep you moving for a good 45-50 minutes.  Well my wife, being the hardest working woman I know, opted to not use the flotation belt.  This took the intensity of the activity and immediately shot it through the roof!   I’ll point out that she was the only one in the class who did so.  Not to make you other fire fighters in the class look bad, but….I’m just sayin’.  To her credit, she’s a former water polo player, competitive swimmer, etc. so she was up for the challenge.

To make a long story short, she came back raving about the class and talking about how challenging it was.  Having done my fair share of water-based sports, I can attest to the difficulty involved.  Moving through water is far different and infinitely more challenging than moving on land.   Needless to say, she sold me on the class.  The next chance I get, I’m jumping in the pool and doing some water aerobics.  I guarantee my wife will make me look like a beginner, but I’ll check my pride at the door and give it my best effort.

My point with this post is to try to get all of you to try something new and always challenge yourself.  Take the next opportunity to sign up for a class or sport that you’ve always been interested in, but never had the guts to try.  Remember, too, that no matter how easy it sounds (*ahem*…water aerobics) there are always things you can do to make it more challenging and certainly worth your while.

So stop reading, get out there and try something new.

Until next time,

Jason
www.hybridfitness.tv

Leave a Reply

