Train hard

Following up on last weeks excellent article from Dr Ken Leistner, this week I am presenting some more words of wisdom from John Wood. If you don’t know who John Wood is, you should. He is an athlete, and author, a coach and an entrepreneur. He has some great web-sites that are definitely worth checking out (see the links at the bottom).

Train hard

By John Wood

Early on, I was taught why training the legs was important, and why I needed a stronger neck, and how grip training would make me a better athlete– all simply necessary parts of training.

It made sense then, as it does now, that when you train, you should train everything – no real secret there, with the whole “chain is only as strong as its weakest link” thing.

I also was fortunate to learn why certain machines did have a place in a training program, and what advantages they could bring.

But despite my introduction and familiarity with these “unusual” types of training, the things that have always been consistent in my training — even from the very beginning — have been Effort and common sense.

I had the know-how to make the right choices, and when I trained, I put all I had into it.  Didn’t matter if it was high reps or low reps, didn’t matter if it was machines or barbells, didn’t matter if it was body-weight
or kettlebells…

The process couldn’t be any simpler, regardless of what I was training with:

1. Train a certain way
2. Recover
3. Get Stronger
4. Repeat

In short, I just trained, and didn’t worry about what anyone thought.  The results from said training were all I needed.  When someone trains a certain way, they come back a day latter a little bit stronger what else needs to be said?

But today we have all kinds of nonsense floating around about training…

Things like:

I hear that if you do any of your sets “to failure” you’ll burn out your central nervous system.

I hear that core strength and posterior chain work is THE most important thing you could ever do.

I hear that I should be training my “white fibers” and leaving the red fibers alone.

I hear that you can make an exercise “more functional” if you do it while standing on a beach ball.

I hear high reps are bad and low reps are good.

I hear low reps are bad and high reps are good.

I hear machines are “the devil.”

I hear bicep work is “worthless.”

I hear kettlebells are the greatest thing since sliced bread… but don’t you dare try to do any of those exercises with a dumbbell…

I hear conditioning work is a one-way ticket to over-training-ville.

Ok……

So, what happened to “just training?”

Seriously, what happened to doing a couple basic exercises and focusing on just getting stronger?

What happened to understanding training so YOU can make the right choices despite what any guru or message board prophet says?

What happened to being strong AND in good shape
like a real athlete?

What happened to eating real food instead of
supplements?

I really don’t know —  I do know that not everybody “falls for” what’s going around these days,  but many do, maybe they will come around, although probably not…

The fact of the matter is that when you train correctly, that is to say with overload, progression and recovery etc, all that scientific mumbo-jumbo that people like to spout is taken care of.  That’s right, train progressively and you’ll hit the type II white fibers, and the Golgi tendon apparati, and even the deep core…

Meanwhile, I’ll just keep training… somehow, I keep getting stronger, I hope you do the same.

TAKU’s Note: Well…there you go. It does not get much more straight forward then that. Pick a tool, pick a workout, and train hard. Check out some of Johns web-site links below. If you drop him a line, tell him TAKU sent you.

www.trapbartraining.com

www.oldtimestrongman.com

www.bodyweightbasics.com

PAU for NOW

TAKU
www.hybridfitness.tv
www.blackjackfitness.com

Leave a Reply

