Knock it off!

Most personal training clients come to a trainer with one goal in mind, to drop some body fat. Along with strength training and “cardio”, creating a solid Personal Eating Plan is an important part of reaching this goal.

As most of you might expect, I take pretty good care of myself. This being said, I am also human. I noticed recently that I had picked up a bad habit. Although I would eat well all day long, I had started late night snacking in front of the T.V.

As my friend, coach Tom Kelso says “5 minutes of bad eating can negate 30 minutes of traditional exercise. 6 x chocolate chip cookies = 300 calories. 150 lb. man jogging at 10 miles/hour pace for 30 minutes = approximately 300 calories burned above BMR. Message: if you spend time “working out,” be disciplined in your eating”.

With this in mind, I decided to try a little experiment. I would not make any drastic changes to my training and eating plans, other than to cut out all superfluous snacking. I started this on the first, and took all of my measurements (circumference, body-fat %, weight etc). I trained hard with the weights, and added no specific conditioning work (other that what I regularly do).

At the end of 28 days, I re-took my measurements. I had dropped my body fat by 3% as well as lost 2 inches on my waist. I even added an inch to my thighs. All this was accomplished while only training hard about 5 times every two weeks or about 10 total workouts. The above mentioned changes may not seem too dramatic but what I am showing you is that with that one small change to my lifestyle, I made a noticeable improvement in a very short time. As a matter of fact, many people noticed the subtle changes to my body composition as, I frequently received positive comments from a variety of sources.

The moral of this story is that it is not too difficult to make small changes that can and will have a positive impact on your health and well being. Weather you have 10 pounds you would like to lose or 50, it is just a matter of consistency over time. Take baby steps, and make it your goal to change one small thing per week over the next few months. Before you know it, you will be looking and feeling better than you have in a long time.

So what are you waiting for? Get to it, and knock off the bad habits.

PAU for NOW

TAKU
www.hybridfitness.tv
www.blackjackfitness.com

Leave a Reply

